Web-pro

Home  >  About the Barreau  >  Recognitions and Tributes  >  Lawyer Emeritus Distinction

About the Barreau

Lawyer Emeritus Distinction

 

Presentation

At a meeting of the general council in March 2007, the Barreau du Québec passed a resolution instituting an honorary distinction designed to promote the image of the legal profession by paying tribute to its most deserving members. This distinction is known as Lawyer Emeritus; recipients are authorized to use the initials “Ad. E.” (Advocatus Emeritus) after their name.

This award is presented to members who gain distinction as a result of their outstanding professional career, outstanding contribution to the profession or outstanding social and community standing that has brought honour to the legal profession.

The Lawyer Emeritus distinction is intended to honour an outstanding career; it can be presented to any lawyer, regardless of age. Distinctions recognizing lengthy careers are handled by the regional bar associations.

Any individual who knows a Barreau du Québec member who has earned a reputation for excellence and who has made remarkable contributions to the legal profession or who, as a lawyer, dedicated his/her efforts to community service or who gained distinction in his/her professional career in a field other than law, but whose contributions brought honour to the legal profession, may nominate the Barreau du Québec member for this distinction, in accordance with the pre-established procedure.

Épinglette Avocat émérite (Advocatus Emeritus, Ad. E.)

After reviewing the nominations, a selection committee decides whether to award the Lawyer Emeritus distinction and deems whether (based on the stated criteria) the nominees have the required qualities to be awarded the distinction.

This distinction is presented annually by the president of the Barreau du Québec at a special ceremony.

Individuals continue to hold the distinction as long as their names appear on the Barreau du Québec’s membership roll, subject to clause III.

In addition to the visibility and prestige associated with such an honour, recipients of the Lawyer Emeritus distinction will receive a pin (manufactured by Birks) bearing the logo of the Barreau du Québec and set with a ruby, together with a fine parchment scroll from Papeterie St-Gilles in Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive.

The Barreau du Québec also authorizes recipients of the Lawyer Emeritus distinction to use the initials “Ad. E.” (Advocatus Emeritus) after their name—a distinctive and highly visible sign of excellence.

List of Award Recipients (2010-2011)

Group 1 (French)

Group 2 (French)

Working Committee

See also


              

Barreau du Québec

© Barreau du Québec 2007-

Privacy Statement and Terms of Use

SUPPORTED BROWSERS | WEB SITE REALIZATION
Mise à jour : Thu Feb 11 10:15:53 EST 2016

Web-pro

Accueil  >  Tout sur le Barreau  >  Reconnaissances et hommages  >  Distinction Avocat émérite

Tout sur le Barreau

Distinction Avocat émérite

 
Documents reliés

La date limite pour proposer des candidatures était
le jeudi 31 mars 2016.

Présentation

Le Barreau du Québec a résolu, lors de la réunion du Conseil général du mois de mars 2007, d'instituer une distinction honorifique, afin de promouvoir l'image de la profession d’avocat par la mise en valeur de ses membres les plus méritants. Cette distinction est connue sous le vocable de Avocat émérite et permet à tout membre détenant cet honneur d’adjoindre après son nom l’abréviation « Ad. E. ».

L’attribution se fait parmi les membres qui se distinguent par l'excellence de leur carrière professionnelle, leur contribution exceptionnelle à la profession ou encore leur rayonnement exceptionnel dans leur milieu social et communautaire, lequel a rejailli sur la profession d’avocat.

La distinction Avocat émérite souligne une carrière exceptionnelle et peut être remise à tout avocat, indépendamment de son âge. Les distinctions qui sont remises en hommage à une longue carrière sont laissées aux soins des barreaux de section.

Toute personne connaissant un membre dont l'excellence est notoire et qui a contribué de façon remarquable à sa profession ou qui, connu comme avocat, s'est dévoué pour sa communauté ou s'est démarqué en ce qui concerne sa carrière professionnelle dans un domaine autre que le droit, mais dont la contribution a rejailli sur la profession d’avocat, peut proposer cet avocat, suivant la procédure préétablie, pour l’obtention de cette distinction.

Épinglette Avocat émérite (Advocatus Emeritus, Ad. E.)

Un Comité de sélection décide de l'attribution de cette distinction, après avoir étudié les candidatures proposées, et juge, suivant les critères déterminés, si les candidats possèdent les qualités requises pour que leur soit attribué le titre d’Avocat émérite.

Cette distinction est remise tous les ans par le bâtonnier, lors d’une cérémonie spéciale organisée à cette fin.

Le titulaire de ce titre le conserve tant qu'il est inscrit au Tableau de l'Ordre, sous réserve de la clause III.

Outre la visibilité et la valorisation qui entourent un tel honneur, les récipiendaires Avocat émérite recevront une épinglette (fabriquée par la maison Birks) avec le logo du Barreau orné d’un rubis ainsi qu’un parchemin sur papier fin de la papeterie St-Gilles de Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive.

Le Barreau du Québec accorde également aux Avocats émérites la permission d’ajouter les lettres Ad. E. à leur nom, un signe distinctif d’excellence bien visible.

Récipiendaires de la distinction Avocat émérite (2014)

Groupe 1

Groupe 2

Comité de travail

Voir aussi

              

Barreau du Québec

© Barreau du Québec 2007-

Déclaration de confidentialité et conditions d’utilisations

NAVIGATEURS SUPPORTÉS | RÉALISATION DU SITE
Mise à jour : 11 February 2016