Home  >  For the Public  >  Client/lawyer relations  >  Professional secrecy

For the Public

Professional secrecy

 
Related Document
See Also

Professional secrecy is a fundamental right that many professionals, including doctors, notaries and lawyers, must observe. Within the lawyer/client relationship, professional secrecy is a privilege that ensures that any information you provide to your lawyer is kept confidential; it also applies to verbal or written opinions provided to you by your lawyer. Under professional secrecy, your lawyer is forbidden from revealing this information, even if questioned before a judge.

Professional secrecy is enshrined in Québec’s Charter of human rights and freedoms. It plays a fundamental role. It serves to create trust between you and your lawyer. It also means that you can entrust your lawyer with all types of information, even things you wouldn’t tell your best friend!

As with any rule, certain exceptions apply. For example, if a lawyer has reason to believe that one of his or her clients might commit suicide or another person might be seriously injured, he or she is authorized to disclose


              

Barreau du Québec

© Barreau du Québec 2007-

Privacy Statement and Terms of Use

SUPPORTED BROWSERS | WEB SITE REALIZATION
Mise à jour : Thu Nov 22 16:35:09 EST 2012

Web-pro

Accueil  >  Pour le public  >  La relation client-avocat  >  Le secret professionnel

Pour le public

Le secret professionnel

 
Document relié
Voir aussi
Compléments
Le Droit de savoir

Le respect du secret professionnel est un droit fondamental que plusieurs professionnels, notamment les médecins, les notaires et les avocats doivent respecter. Dans la relation entre un client et un avocat, le secret professionnel est un privilège qui assure la confidentialité des informations transmises à l’avocat. Il s’applique aussi aux avis qu’un avocat vous fournit, verbalement ou par écrit. Il interdit à votre avocat de les révéler, même s’il est questionné devant un juge.

Le respect du secret professionnel est inscrit dans la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne. Son rôle est fondamental. Il crée un climat de confiance entre vous et votre avocat. Il vous permet de lui confier toute information, même celles que vous n’oseriez pas divulguer à votre meilleur ami!

Comme à toute règle, il existe des exceptions. Par exemple, si un avocat a des raisons de croire que son client pourrait s’enlever la vie ou qu’une personne pourrait être gravement blessée, il pourrait dévoiler des informations confidentielles.


              

Barreau du Québec

© Barreau du Québec 2007-

Déclaration de confidentialité et conditions d’utilisation

NAVIGATEURS SUPPORTÉS | RÉALISATION DU SITE
Mise à jour : Thu Nov 22 16:35:09 EST 2012