Jeffrey Orenstein
Search
Annual registration Directory of lawyers

This content is currently unavailable in the requested language. Click here to see the french version of the page.

Candidats en lice

Jeffrey Orenstein

Candidate for Director Position (Montreal) - 2 years

Member of the Barreau since 2002

Presentation

I am the principal of the boutique law firm Consumer Law Group, which I founded 10 years ago. I received a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) from the University of Montreal (2000) and a Master of Laws (LL.M.) from New York University (2001). I was called to the bar in 2002 (Québec) and in 2011 (Ontario). My practice is devoted primarily to plaintiff’s class action work (consumer protection, antitrust, public interest, drug and product liability). I am lead counsel in multiple national and provincial class actions. I have appeared numerous times before the Courts in both Quebec and Ontario.

I am a frequent speaker at conferences given by the Barreau du Québec, Osgoode Hall Professional Development, and elsewhere in Canada. I am the attorney of record in over 200 reported cases. I am regularly interviewed by media outlets in Canada, the U.S. and internationally about my cases, as well as other legal matters of interest to the public.

I have been recognized by Benchmark Litigation as a Litigation Star in Quebec, by Lexpert as a Leading Practitioner in Class Actions in Montreal, and by Who’s Who Legal as Recommended for Litigation in Canada.

Visit my Website for more details and follow me on LinkedIn.

Experiences

Since 2016, I have been a member of the Barreau du Québec’s Consumer Protection Committee. This committee has been very active in reviewing draft federal and provincial legislation that affects consumer rights in Quebec. The committee has made several recommendations, many of which have impacted the legislature’s decisions. This experience has enabled me to see first-hand how the Barreau du Québec can be instrumental in affecting change and how it can help protect, and even shape, society’s legal rights. 

I find it important to give back to the legal community and to help educate the public about legal matters. I feel that we are very fortunate to be able to effect positive change through our practice of law. To this end, I have been a Governor of the Fondation du Barreau du Québec since 2018.

Since 2017, I have been a member the County of Carleton Law Association’s (CCLA) Membership Committee in Ottawa, which is the second largest law association in Ontario. In this role, I have helped to brainstorm and implement novel ways of bringing new lawyers into the Ottawa legal community as well as retaining current members. From this experience, I have absorbed the importance of encouraging and fostering a sense of community and comradery between lawyers in general, no matter what specific field they practice in.

For many years, I have been a member of the Board of Directors of Mount Sinai Hospital in Montreal, where we were tasked with making strategic and operational decisions related to the treatment and care of patients. I believe that providing proper care for the vulnerable and disadvantaged, whether from a health, economic, or legal perspective is of utmost importance and a barometer for the overall health of our society.

Objectives

Making the Barreau a more welcoming resource for lawyers

  • As a governing body, it should encourage and make it easy for members to provide their input; that way, we can ensure that the Barreau best reflects the interests of its members and its policies best reflect members’ concerns.
  • To this end, I would advocate for more flexible approaches and guidelines to allow for actions to be catered to the needs of particular situations.

Fostering a more collegiate atmosphere

  • I believe that it is important to create more opportunities, incentives, and programs to foster diversity and minority involvement in the community, both in terms of professional involvement as well as social.
  • Our fellow practitioners, from all walks of life have much to offer; through encouraging involvement we can gain better insight into the needs of our members.

Reducing costs from within, while raising revenues from outside

  • As lawyers, we incur the costs of our yearly bar dues as well as the costs of adhering to the continuing legal education requirements to remain in good standing with the Barreau. I believe that we can lower our financial contributions by raising revenue through alternative sources (other than just from our own membership). One idea would be to offer more education programs free-of-charge for members of the Barreau and make them available at a cost to those who are not members. Another idea is to publish resources that the public at large could benefit from. To this end, we should encourage participation of the community of lawyers to come up with creative and interesting topics to appeal to both lawyers and non-lawyers.
  • I would like to advocate for the removal of certain unnecessary procedural red tape and for the relaxation of certain overly burdensome formalities in order to save the costs associated therewith. One area that I would like to see improvements in is the notification of certain documents and proceedings by bailiff on the parties directly, in favour of alternative means.
  • I believe that more government funding should go to economically-disadvantaged persons to enable greater access to justice.

Technological Advancements

  • There should be a publicly-accessible computerized system for filing, entering and retrieving court documents at a cost. From an environmental perspective, this should help to reduce the number of documents that must be printed.
  • There should be a greater use of technology in the courtroom to allow for remote appearances of clients and witnesses.

Fostering Quebec’s national image/reputation

  • I believe that Quebec should have a larger role within the Canadian legal landscape. One way to achieve this would be to make our case law more national/international in scope – court decisions, where possible, should be rendered bilingually, if this is to be achieved.
  • I would like to see more skill-based certificate programs offered to help new lawyers gain more hands-on experience in the field.

No one individual has a monopoly on good ideas. I am therefore always open to all constructive suggestions and input. With your support, if elected, I will be available to follow up with any member who is willing to work to improve our profession.

I look forward to your support and the opportunity to work for the benefit of us all.

Thank you for considering my candidacy.

Jeffrey Orenstein
Recherche
Bottin des avocats

Candidats en lice

Jeffrey Orenstein

Candidat au poste d'administrateur (Montréal) - 2 ans

Membre du Barreau depuis 2002

Consulter la version anglaise

Présentation

Je suis le directeur du cabinet d’avocats Consumer Law Group, que j’ai fondé il y a 10 ans. J’ai obtenu un baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.) de l’Université de Montréal (2000) et une maîtrise en droit (LL.M.) de l’Université de New York (2001). J’ai été admis au Barreau du Québec (2002) et au Barreau de l’Ontario (2011). Ma pratique est principalement consacrée aux actions collectives en demande : protection du consommateur, non-concurrence, intérêt public, médicaments et responsabilité du fait des produits. Je suis l’avocat principal dans plusieurs actions collectives nationales et provinciales. J’ai plaidé à de nombreuses reprises devant les tribunaux du Québec et de l’Ontario.

Je suis souvent conférencier lors de conférences présentées par le Barreau du Québec, Osgoode Hall développement professionnel, et ailleurs au Canada. Je suis l’avocat au dossier dans plus de 200 cas publiés. Je suis régulièrement interviewé par les médias au Canada, aux États-Unis et à l’étranger à propos de mes dossiers, ainsi que sur d’autres questions juridiques d’intérêt public.

J’ai été reconnu par Benchmark Litigation comme étant une « Litigation Star » au Québec, par Lexpert comme un « Leading Practitioner » dans les actions collectives à Montréal, et par Who’s Who Legal comme « Recommended » en litige au Canada.

Visitez mon site Web pour plus de détails et suivez-moi sur LinkedIn.

Expériences et réalisations

Depuis 2016, je suis membre du Comité de la protection des consommateurs du Barreau du Québec. Ce comité a été très actif dans l’examen des projets de loi fédéraux et provinciaux qui affecte les droits des consommateurs au Québec. Le comité a fait plusieurs recommandations dont plusieurs ont eu un impact sur les décisions de la législature. Cette expérience m’a permis de voir directement comment le Barreau du Québec peut jouer un rôle déterminant dans le changement et comment il peut contribuer à protéger, et même à façonner, les droits légaux de la société.

Je trouve important de redonner à la communauté juridique et de contribuer à l’éducation du public sur les questions juridiques. Je pense que nous avons bien des occasions de pouvoir apporter des changements positifs par notre pratique du droit. À cet effet, je suis gouverneur de la Fondation du Barreau du Québec depuis 2018.

Depuis 2017, je suis membre du comité d’adhésion de l’Association du Barreau du Comté de Carleton (ABCC) à Ottawa, qui est la deuxième plus grande association juridique de l’Ontario. Dans ce rôle, j’ai contribué à la réflexion et à la mise en œuvre de nouvelles méthodes pour attirer de nouveaux avocats dans la communauté juridique d’Ottawa et pour retenir les membres actuels. De cette expérience, j’ai compris l’importance d’encourager et de favoriser un sentiment de communauté et de camaraderie entre les avocats en général, quel que soit le domaine spécifique dans lequel ils exercent.

Pendant de nombreuses années, j’ai été membre du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital Mont-Sinaï à Montréal, où nous étions chargés de prendre des décisions stratégiques et opérationnelles relatives au traitement et aux soins des patients. Je crois que la fourniture de soins appropriés aux personnes vulnérables et défavorisées, que ce soit d’un point de vue santé, économique ou juridique, est de la plus haute importance et constitue un baromètre de la santé globale de notre société.

Objectifs

Faire du Barreau une ressource plus accueillante pour les avocats

  • En tant qu’organisme dirigeant, le Barreau devrait encourager et faciliter l’apport des membres; de cette façon, nous pouvons nous assurer que le Barreau reflète au mieux les intérêts de ses membres et que ses politiques reflètent au mieux les préoccupations des membres.
  • À cette fin, je plaiderais en faveur d’approches et de lignes directrices plus souples pour permettre de répondre aux besoins de situations particulières.

Favoriser une atmosphère plus collégiale

  • Je crois qu’il est important de créer davantage d’opportunités, d’incitations et de programmes pour favoriser la diversité et l’implication des minorités dans la communauté, tant en termes d’engagement professionnel que social.
  • Nos collègues praticiens, de tous les milieux, ont beaucoup à offrir; en encourageant leur participation, nous pouvons mieux comprendre les besoins de nos membres.

Réduire les coûts de l’intérieur, tout en augmentant les recettes de l’extérieur

  • En tant qu’avocats, nous supportons les coûts de nos cotisations annuelles au Barreau ainsi que les coûts liés à l’adhésion aux exigences de la formation continue obligatoire pour rester en règle avec le Barreau. Je pense que nous pouvons réduire nos contributions financières en obtenant des revenus par d’autres moyens (autres que notre propre adhésion). Une idée serait d’offrir davantage de programmes de formation gratuits aux membres du Barreau et de les mettre à la disposition de ceux qui ne sont pas membres à un prix avantageux. Une autre idée serait de publier des informations dont le grand public pourrait bénéficier. À cette fin, nous devrions encourager la participation de la communauté des avocats afin de proposer des sujets créatifs et intéressants qui plaisent à la fois aux avocats et aux non-avocats.
  • Je voudrais préconiser la suppression de certaines lourdeurs procédurales inutiles et l’assouplissement de certaines formalités fastidieuses afin d’économiser les coûts qui y sont liés. J’aimerais que des améliorations soient apportées à la notification de certains documents et procédures par huissier aux parties directement, au profit d’autres moyens alternatifs.
  • Je pense que davantage de fonds publics devraient aller aux personnes économiquement défavorisées pour leur permettre un meilleur accès à la justice.

Progrès technologiques

  • Il devrait y avoir un système informatisé accessible au public pour le dépôt, la saisie et la récupération des documents judiciaires, moyennant un coût. D’un point de vue environnemental, cela devrait contribuer à réduire le nombre de documents qui doivent être imprimés.
  • Il faudrait utiliser davantage la technologie dans les salles d’audience pour permettre la comparution à distance des clients et des témoins.

Promouvoir l’image et la réputation du Québec

  • Je crois que le Québec devrait jouer un rôle plus important dans le paysage juridique canadien. Une façon d’y parvenir serait de donner à notre jurisprudence une portée plus nationale/ internationale – les décisions des tribunaux devraient, si possible, être rendues dans les deux langues.
  • J’aimerais que davantage de programmes de certificats basés sur les compétences spécifiques soient proposés pour aider les nouveaux avocats à acquérir une expérience pratique dans le domaine.

Aucun individu n’a le monopole des bonnes idées. C’est pourquoi je suis toujours ouvert aux suggestions et contributions constructives. Avec votre soutien, si je suis élu, je serai disponible pour assurer un suivi avec tout membre qui est prêt à travailler pour améliorer notre profession.

J’espère pouvoir compter sur votre soutien et avoir l’occasion de travailler pour le bien de tous.

Je vous remercie de prendre en considération ma candidature.